Winners Announced: 2021 ACGR Awards for Excellence in Graduate Research Education

The Australian Council of Graduate Research (ACGR) has announced the winners of the 2021 ACGR Awards for Excellence in Graduate Research Education and celebrated some of the inspiring work that is happening in Australian universities.

The awards publicly promote outstanding performance in higher degree research supervision, leadership and industry engagement. With a focus on impact and outcomes, the selection panel included student and industry representatives from the Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations and the Australian Industries Group.

ACGR Convenor, Professor Al McEwan said: “The ACGR Awards showcase some of the great work that is being done by academic staff across Australia to develop the next generation of researchers who have much to contribute to Australian society and economy both during their studies and after they graduate.”

Professor McEwan also took the time to that ResearchMaster for their ongoing support these national awards.

Special congratulations to Professor Kay Crossley, La Trobe University, the winner of ACGR Award for Excellence in Graduate Research Supervision proudly sponsored by ResearchMaster

Professor Kay Crossley has 13 years of supervision experience, with 57 HDR completions (27 as principal), across physiotherapy, medicine, podiatry and engineering disciplines. She is currently supervising 11 PhDs (5 as principal supervisor).

As well as having a focus on supporting candidates to publish their research, Kay also works tirelessly to secure grant support for her charges. Her completed PhD candidates to date have produced on average 6 peer-reviewed publications each and more than half of her current candidates have NHMRC scholarships.

Watch the virtual award presentation to Professor Kay Crossley here

Special Commendations for the same award went to:
Professor Joan Cunningham, Charles Darwin University
Professor Sundyha Pahuja, The University of Melbourne

Congratulations also to the following:

ACGR Award for Excellence in Graduate Research Leadership
Winner: Dr Jeanette Fyffe, La Trobe University

Special commendations:
Professor Michelle Tuckey, University of South Australia
Dr Suzanna Fay, The University of Queensland

ACGR Award for Excellence in Promoting Industry Engagement in Graduate Research 
Winner: Professor Dugald Close and team, University of Tasmania

Special Commendations:
Associate Professor Melissa Crowe, James Cook University
Professor Graham Currie, Monash University



Blog Categories